Bernard Lewis Fellowship

The Bernard Lewis Fellowship was established to encourage high quality research in combustion by young scientists and engineers. Fellowships are awarded biennially during the International Symposium on Combustion. Each recipient must be either a student or combustion scientist within three years of completing their last educational degree, an author of a paper accepted at the current symposium, and a member of The Combustion Institute.


2024: Jackson Crane, Queen’s University, Canada
Anna Doner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
Tao Li, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany and Cambridge University, United Kingdom
Wei Li, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Shaorun Lin, University of California, Berkeley, United States
Luna Pratali Maffei, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

2022: Pedro Magalhães De Oliveira, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Dapeng Liu, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Saudi Arabia
Adam Susa, Stanford University, United States  
Yong Tang, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
Hao Zhao, Peking University, China
Thorsten Zirwes, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany

2020: Zhi Chen, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Wenkai Liang, Princeton University, United States
Yihua Ren, RWTH-Aachen University, Germany
Martin Rieth, Sandia National Laboratories, United States
Xu Wen, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
Xiaoyuan Zhang, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

2018: Wang Han, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
Xinyan Huang, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China
Luca Magri, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Chris Reuter, Princeton University, United States
Wenyu Sun, Tsinghua University, China
Peng Zhao, Princeton University, United States

2016: Liming Cai, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Sili Deng, Princeton University, United States
Luc-Sy Tran, Bielefeld University, Germany
Shengkai Wang, Stanford University, United States
Bo Zhou, Lund University, Sweden


2014: Casey Allen, Marquette University, United States 
Benedetta Franzelli, Stanford University, United States & EM2C-CNRS, France
Carmela Russo, Istituto di Ricerche sulla Combustione, Italy
Zhandong Wang, University of Science & Technology of China, China
Fujia Wu, Princeton University, United States

2012: Katarzyna Bizon, Universita del Sannio, Italy
Patrick Oßwald, Bielefeld University, Germany
Mariano Sirignano, University of Naples Federico II, Italy
Wenting Sun, Princeton University, United States
Haifeng Wang, Cornell University, United States

2010: Mohammednoor Altarawneh, Al-Hussein Bin Talal University, Jordan
Andrew Kelley, Princeton University, United States
Yuyang Li, National Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory, China
Zhenyu Tian, CNRS, France
Konstantina Vogiatzaki, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Ming-Hsun Wu, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan

2008: Zheng Chen, Princeton University, United States
Ariel Dvorjetski, Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
Seth Dworkin, Yale University, United States
Zhuyin Ren, Cornell University, United States
Xiaoqing You, University of Southern California, United States

2006: Ian Burns, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Tonghun Lee, Stanford University, United States
Raghu Sivaramakrishnan, University of Illinois at Chicago, United States
Juan Wang, Cornell University, United States

2004: Murray J. Height, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETHZ), Switzerland
Daniel Norton, University of Delaware, United States
Matthew A. Oehlschlaeger, Stanford University, United States
Matei Radulescu, Princeton University, United States
Xiaolin L. Zheng, Princeton University, United States

2002: Matthew R. Johnson, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, United States
Sudarshan Kumar, Indian Institute of Science, India
Stephani Raimondeau, University of Delaware, United States
Vita S. Santoro, Yale University, United States
Karina Sendt, University of Sydney, Australia

2000: Preeti Aghalayam, University of Massachusetts at Amhurst, United States
Oliver Gicquel, Ecole Centrale Paris/CNRS, France
Angela Violi, University of Utah, United States, Universita di Napoli, Italy

1998: Jeong Yeol Choi, Institute of Advanced Machinery & Design, Korea
Andrew J. Higgins, McGill University, Canada

1996: Bronwyn Duffy, CSIRO, Australia
Shakti Goel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States