The Combustion Institute has standing committees and additional (ad hoc) committees that manage CI business and other affairs. Committees have the honor to work with our members and the greater international combustion community to promote and disseminate advancements in combustion science. Reference the CI By-Laws for more information.

Standing Committees:

Executive Committee exercises their power in the management and direction of CI business and other affairs during the interval between meetings of the Board of Directors. The Executive Committee is composed of six members that serve four-year terms: the President, Vice President (President-Elect), Treasurer, Secretary, Vice President for Sectional Affairs, and the Secretary for Sectional Affairs. Read more

Fellows of The Combustion Institute Selection Committee is charged with the responsibility to evaluate nominees each year and select candidates to become CI Fellows. The Fellows Program of The Combustion Institute recognizes distinguished members of the international combustion community for outstanding scientific contributions. Read more

Finance Committee is charged with the responsibility to advise the Board of Directors on the financial implications of CI administration, activities, and to recommend financial policies. The Finance Committee is currently composed of five members, appointed by the President in consultation with the Executive Committee, to four-year, staggered terms. Read more

Additional Committees:

Action Committees make recommendations on specific business matters and other affairs that maintain CI as the leader for the advancement of combustion science. Members of these additional (ad hoc) committees are charged with the responsibility to deliberate solutions and suggest strategies on new issues and opportunities. Read more

Award Committees have the honor and the responsibility to seek nominations and select winners among our international community of combustion scientists and practitioners. Members of these additional (ad hoc) committees use their expertise to deliberate the most significant contributions in the field of combustion. Read more