In March 2017, The Combustion Institute Board of Directors established the Fellows Program of The Combustion Institute to recognize distinguished members of the international combustion community for outstanding scientific contributions. The Fellows Selection Committee for the 2022 Fellows of The Combustion Institute has been established and is charged with the responsibility of evaluating nominees and selecting the 2022 Class of Fellows. The committee consists of esteemed members appointed by the President in consultation with the Executive Commitee. Members of the Selection Committee have agreed to serve staggered terms over a three-year cycle. 

The following is a list of committee members based on term length:

Term Ends in 2022  
Gilles Bourque, Siemens Energy Canada Limited, Canada  
Osamu Fujita, Hokkaido University, Japan  
Yiguang Ju, Princeton University, United States  
Murray Thomson, University of Toronto, Canada

Term Ends in 2023 
Campbell D. Carter, Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, United States 
Suk-Ho Chung, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia 
Pascale Domingo, Directrice de recherche CNRS, INSA de Rouen, France 
Angela Violi, University of Michigan, United States 

Term Ends in 2024 
María U. Alzueta, University of Zaragoza, Spain
Roger Cracknell, Shell Global Solutions, United Kingdom 
Ronald K. Hanson, Stanford University, United States 
Hong G. Im, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia 
Peter Lindstedt, Imperial College London, United Kingdom 
Guillermo Rein, Imperial College London, United Kingdom 
Uwe Riedel, University of Stuttgart and DLR, Germany 
Alison Tomlin, University of Leeds, United Kingdom 

The Call for Nominations for the Fellows of The Combustion Institute
The Call for Nominations will be released next week; please look for it in your emails. Nominations will be accepted through 30 September 2021, after which the selection committee will convene electronically to evaluate the nomination packages. (Committee members are not permitted to nominate or otherwise support any candidates.) The selection process is scheduled to conclude in January 2022. 

About the Fellows Program of The Combustion Institute
Members of the international combustion community recognized by their peers as distinguished for outstanding contributions to combustion, whether it be in research or in applications, may be designated Fellows of The Combustion Institute and may use the acronym FCI next to their name. This lifetime honorific title confers no special rights, privileges or duties. For more information about the Fellows program refer to the governing document accepted by the Board of Directors.