The Call for Nominations has been released for the 2024 Gold Medals of The Combustion Institute. The international combustion community recognizes major contributions to the advancement of combustion science with the bestowal of four Gold Medals. The award winners will be recognized at the CI’s 40th International Symposium – Emphasizing Energy Transition in Milan, Italy.

Submissions of nominations must be received through the CI website before the deadline of 23:59 EST, 16 February 2024. The Gold Medal Selection Committee will undertake a review of nominations with consideration for the scientific quality, originality, and independence of research. The committee chair sets the parameters of the committee’s evaluation and assignment of medals.

The four Gold Medals are as follows:

Bernard Lewis Gold Medal 
Recognizes brilliant research in the field of combustion.

Alfred C. Egerton Gold Medal 
Recognizes distinguished, continuing, and encouraging contributions to the field of combustion.

Ya. B. Zeldovich Gold Medal 
Recognizes outstanding contributions to theories of combustion.

Jürgen Warnatz Gold Medal
Recognizes exceptional scientific contributions having a major impact on combustion applications or combustion research.

The Gold Medals are the highest awards of The Combustion Institute, presented biennially during the International Symposium on Combustion. The awards are bestowed upon scientists whose major contributions have significantly advanced their fields of combustion science.

Download the Call for Nominations to learn more about the submissions process. Questions regarding Gold Medals may be directed to