The Combustion Institute members have voted and selected eight new members to join the Board of Directors. We thank all of the Board candidates for making themselves available for this service. The newly elected directors will begin their six-year term on 17 July 2020 and continue in this role until the end of the 41st Symposium on Combustion in 2026.

The elected directors are listed in alphabetical order:

Zheng Chen, Peking University, China
Henry Curran, NUI-Galway, Ireland
Ruud Eggels, Rolls-Royce Deutschland, Germany
Mara de Joannon, IRC-CNR Naples, Italy
Naian Liu, USTC, China
Kaoru Maruta, Tohoku University, Japan
Perrine Pepiot, Cornell University, United States
Li Qiao, Purdue University, United States

The election ran from 1-30 June and was overseen by the professional election specialists, YesElections, using a modified single transferrable vote method. Participation in the Board of Directors Election continues to increase, with 43% of the eligible members registering votes in this election. Thank you to all members who continue to help with the growth and development of The Combustion Institute.

Eight of our directors will be concluding their terms on 17 July 2020. Listed in alphabetical order, they are:

Pascale Desgroux, USTL, Villeneuve-d’Ascq, France
James Driscoll, University of Michigan, United States
Fokion Egolfopoulos, University of Southern California, United States
Philip de Goey, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Hideaki Kobayashi, Tohoku University, Japan
Assaad Masri, University of Sydney, Australia
Heinz Pitsch, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Minghou Xu, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China

We thank them for their years of service and immeasurable contributions to The Combustion Institute. The Board of Directors manages the affairs, property, and interests of The Combustion Institute. Directors make a great commitment of time and energy to the international combustion community. Questions regarding the election may be directed to