The Combustion Institute members have voted and selected six new members to join the Board of Directors. We thank all of the Board candidates for making themselves available for this service. The newly elected directors will begin their six-year term in 2022 and continue in this role until the end of the 42nd Symposium on Combustion in 2028.

The elected directors are listed in alphabetical order:

Nils Hansen, Sandia National Laboratories, United States
Terese Løvås, NTNU, Norway
Epaminodas Mastorakos, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Teruyuki Okazaki, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Japan
William Roberts, KAUST, Saudi Arabia
Haiping Yang, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China

The election ran from 1-30 June and was overseen by the professional election specialists, YesElections, using a modified single transferrable vote method. In this election, 26.75% of the eligible members voted. Thank you to all members who continue to help with the growth and development of The Combustion Institute.

Additionally, four of our board members will be concluding their terms in July 2022. Listed in alphabetical order, they are:

Toshiro Fujimori, IHI Corporation, Japan
Simone Hochgreb, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Thierry Poinsot, Institut de Mécanique des Fluides de Toulouse, CNRS, France
Chris Shaddix, Sandia National Laboratories, United States

We thank them for their years of service and invaluable contributions to The Combustion Institute. The Board of Directors manages the affairs, property, and interests of The Combustion Institute. Directors commit a great deal of time and energy to the international combustion community. Questions regarding the election may be directed to