The Combustion Institute congratulates the winner of the 2022 Arden L. Bement Jr. Award, Prof. Jay Gore. Awarded by Purdue University, this prize recognizes Prof. Gore’s “recent contributions to the inclusion of big data, artificial neural networks, machine learning, and artificial intelligence in physics-based models of energy.”

Prof. Gore received his M.S. and PhD. from Pennsylvania State University, and currently serves as the Reilly University Chair Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Purdue University. Among his research interests are sustainable energy and environment, combustion and turbulent reacting flows, biomedical flows and heat transfer, and global policy research. He is a member of the Purdue Innovator Hall of Fame, was named a Fellow of the Combustion Institute (International) in 2019, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics in 2009, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers in 2006 and served on the External Advisory Committee for the College of Engineering at Pennsylvania State University from 2015-2018. 

We are pleased to showcase the successes and contributions of our members among our international community of combustion scientists and practitioners. Congratulations, Prof. Gore!