## 2024 Great Britain Section of The Combustion Institute Report

Section Website: https://www.combustion.org.uk Section Chair: Nedunchezhian Swaminathan

## Section officers and board members with titles:

- Officers
  - o Prof. Nedunchezhian Swaminathan (Chair)
  - o Dr Kevin. J. Hughes (Treasurer)
  - Dr Salvador Navarro-Martinez (Secretary)
- Board Members
  - o Prof. Epaminondas Mastorakos (Comb. Flame, CI Board)
  - o Dr Roger Cracknell (CI Board)
  - Dr Andrew Aspden (Webmaster & Newsletter)
  - o Dr Brian Peterson
  - Dr Suresh Sadasivuni
  - o Dr Agustin Valera-Medina
  - Dr Konstantina Vogiatzaki
  - Dr Andreas Guisti.

## Members of the section:

Active Members 168
Non-Student Members 132
Student Members 36

Has the section revised its by-laws since 2022?

No

Section meetings and workshops since 2022:

- Section Meetings
  - o 19/Jan/2022
  - o 18/May/2022 (committee meetings CM)
  - o 27/Oct/2022 (AGM)
  - o 10/Jan/2023
  - o 30/May/2023 (CM)12/Sep/2023 (AGM)
- Workshops and Symposia
  - 27/Oct/2022 H2 Combustion current trends, attended by about 60 people -Sponsored by Rolls-Royce
  - o 12/Sep/2023 Current Research in Combustion, about 65 people
  - o 8/Dec/2023 H2 Combustion Meeting 2023, about 110 people attended.
    - These meetings were run jointly by CIBS/IoP-Combustion Physics Group.

## Other activities:

N/A

Awards given by section:

- Sugden Prize: For 2022 L. Berger, A. Attili, and H. Pitsch, "Intrinsic instabilities in premixed hydrogen flames: parametric variation of pressure, equivalence ratio and temperature. Part 2 non-linear regime and flame speed enhancement", Combustion and Flame, vol. 240, 111936, (2022)
- Hinshelwood Prize: For 2022 Dr Andrea Giusti, Imperial College London
- Gaydon Prize: For 2022 V. Patel, N Lokachari, S. Gail, R. Cracknell, and H. J. Curran, "An experimental auto-ignition and kinetic modelling study of binary and ternary cyclopentane/toluene/diisobutylene/iso-octane mixtures", Proc. Comb. Inst. 39, 4959-4968, (2023)
  - Further detail on these Awards can be found at https://www.combustion.org.uk/awards

Special achievements attained by section members:

 Professor Mastorakos, Cambridge - elected as Fellow of Royal Academy of Engineering, UK, in 2022

Does your Section plan to organize the international Combustion Institute Summer School (CI-SS)?

No

If you selected "Yes" which year will it be carried out?

N/A

Other information you may want to report:

N/A