2024 USA Eastern States Section of The Combustion Institute Report Section Website: https://www.essci.org/ Section Chair: Paul Papas

Section officers and board members with titles:

- Officers
 - Paul Papas (Chair)
 - o Michael Mueller (Vice Chair)
 - Wenting Sun (Treasurer)
 - Richard West (Secretary)
- Board Members
 - o Paul Papas
 - Michael Mueller
 - Wenting Sun
 - o Richard West
 - Jackie O'Connor
 - Chih-Jen (Jackie) Sung
 - Michael Burke
 - Sang Hee Wang
 - Chloe Dedic
 - Perrine Pepiot
 - o Sili Deng
 - Francis (Mac) Haas
 - o Brandon Rotavera
 - o Xinyu Zhao

Members of the section:

Active Members	270
Non-Student Members	168
Student Members	102

Has the section revised its by-laws since 2022?

• No

Section meetings and workshops since 2022:

- Section Meetings
 - 2023-03-19: Executive Board Meeting at US National Combustion meeting (Texas A&M)
 - o 2023-02-13: Virtual Executive Board Meeting on Zoom
 - 2022-08-31: Virtual Executive Board Meeting on Zoom
 - o 2022-07-24: Executive Board Meeting at Vancouver International Symposium
 - o 2022-03-06: Executive Board Meeting at 2022 ESSCI Spring Technical meeting (UCF)
- Workshops and Symposia
 - o 2022 ESSCI Spring Technical meeting at University of Central Florida (125 attendees)

Other activities:

- Princeton University Summer Schools
- Early Career Mentoring Event at 2022 ESSCI Spring Technical Meeting (UCF)

Awards given by section:

- See https://www.essci.org/ for details:
 - o (1) 2022 Irvin Glassman Young Investigator Award (Brandon Rotavera)
 - o (2) 2022 G.H. Markstein Best Paper Award (Tavares et al.)
 - o (3) 2022 C.P. Fenimore Best Student Presentation (Haripriya Rajagopalan)
 - (4) 2024 Irvin Glassman Young Investigator Award (Sili Deng)

Special achievements attained by section members:

- Wenting Sun (Ga Tech) received the 2023 H. Tsuji Early Career Researcher Award, and elected AIAA Associate Fellow in 2023
- Chih-Jen (Jackie) Sung (UConn) received 2024 AIAA Energy Systems Award
- Paul Papas (RTRC)- 2023 Connecticut Academy of Sciences and Engineering (CASE)
- Jackie O'Connor (Penn State) received the 2023 H. Tsuji Early Career Researcher Award
- Michael Mueller (Princeton) received the 2022 H. Tsuji Early Career Researcher Award, 2022 AIAA Associate Fellow and 2023 ASME Fellow.

Does your Section plan to organize the international Combustion Institute Summer School (CI-SS)?

• Yes

If you selected "Yes" which year will it be carried out?

• Princeton University CI Summer School (2024)

Other information you may want to report:

• N/A