

Call for Nominations: The Combustion Institute Board of Directors

Released: 13 November 2023

The Combustion Institute is seeking nominations for the Board of Directors. Elected directors will serve one six-year term (2024-2030) to begin at the conclusion of the 40th International Symposium on Combustion (or Friday, 26 July 2024 if the date of the symposium is affected by unforeseen circumstance).

Nominations

Sections and individual members are encouraged to nominate well-qualified colleagues for these leadership positions. Nominations from industry candidates are particularly encouraged. The nomination package should contain the following materials in Microsoft[®] Word or PDF format:

- A brief statement (or Nomination Letter) (up to 1 page) of why the candidate should be considered for a position on the Board of Directors;
- A statement detailing the nominee's service to the combustion community and/or other professional organizations (Supporting Letter);
- A two-page curriculum vitae and a list of peer-reviewed publications of the past 5 years; and
- A description of his/her field of work with the URL of the nominee's website if available (up to 1 page).

Submit nomination packages through the nomination submission portal on The Combustion Institute Account Management System (AMS). Instructions on how to use the AMS nomination submission portal can be found on the CI website. Questions regarding submissions should be directed to office@combustioninstitute.org with the subject line: Board of Directors Nomination Package.

Nominations Deadline: Submissions must be received before 23:59 EST, 3 January 2024.

Participation: To participate in the election, each member of The Combustion Institute must have an active account on the Cl's AMS that has been approved by their Section Administrator. Ballots will be delivered to members in June 2024. The election will be conducted using a Single Transferable Vote (STV) system.

Board of Directors Nomination Committee

The committee is charged with the responsibility to review and propose a slate of members to become directors.

Thierry Poinsot, Chair, Toulouse Institute of Fluid Mechanics, France Jacqueline H. Chen, Sandia National Laboratories, United States Osamu Fujita, Hokkaido University, Japan In-Seuck Jeung, Seoul National University, Republic of Korea Deanna Lacoste, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia Terese Løvås, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway Perrine Pepiot, Cornell University, United States Sayaka Suzuki, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Questions or suggestions regarding potential nominations may be directed to The Combustion Institute office: office@CombustionInstitute.org.