2022 USA Eastern States Section of The Combustion Institute Report

Section Website: https://www.essci.org/
Section Chair: Paul Papas

Section officers and board members with titles:

- Officers
 - Paul Papas (Chair), Michael Mueller (Vice Chair), Perrine Pepiot (Past Chair), Wenting Sun (Treasurer), Jacqueline O'Connor (Program Chair), Richard West (Secretary)
- Board Members
- Paul Papas, Michael Mueller, Perrine Pepiot, Wenting Sun, Jackie Sung, Steven Tuttle, Michael Burke, CJacqueline O'Connor, Richard West, Sang Hee Won, Xinyu Zhao, Sili Deng, Mac Haas, Chloe Dedic, Brandon Rotavera

Members of the section:

Active Members 185 Non-Student Members 80 Student Members 105

Has the section revised its by-laws since 2020?

No

Section meetings and workshops since 2018:

- Section Meetings
 - March 6, 2022: ESSCI Executive Board meeting at 2022 ESSCI Spring Technical Meeting (Orlando, FL) --13 board members attended in person; 1 virtual; 1 absent
 - March 7, 2020: ESSCI Executive Board meeting at 2020 ESSCI Spring Technical Meeting (Columbia, SC) -- 11 attended in person; 1 virtual; 2 absent
 - May 25, 2021: ESSCI Executive Board meeting- virtual (US National meeting was virtual) 12 participated
- Workshops
 - 2022 ESSCI Spring Technical Meeting (March 7-9 at the University of Central Florida in Orlando, FL) -- 120 attendees (75 students)
 - 2020 ESSCI Spring Technical Meeting (March 8-11 at the University of South Carolina in Columbia, SC) -- 96 attendees (58 students)

Other activities:

- Career development and mentoring mixers (Goal to bring together students and professionals in academia and industry on topics of mutual interest in order to foster mentor-mentee relationships.
- In the past 2 years, mixers have been offered at each local and national technical meetings, and follow the format established by Dr. Labbe at the US National Meeting at Caltech in 2019).
- 2020 Spring ESSCI Meeting (in person, 53 participants)
- 2021 US National Meeting (virtual, ESSCI/WSSCI collaboration, 95 participants);
- 2022 Spring ESSCI Meeting (in person, 58 participants)

Awards given by section:

- Irvin Glassman Young Investigator Award (Brandon Rotavera in 2022; Xinyu Zhao in 2020)
- Selections for Markstein and Fenimore awards from 2022 ESSCI Technical Meeting are in process.
- George H. Markstein Best Paper Award (Dammati, Kozak, Rising, Ahmed, and Poludnenko in 2020)
- Charles P. Fenimore Best Student Presetnation (Joseph Squeo in 2020 from Univ. Connecticut)
 - (See essci.org for details)

Special achievements attained by section members:

None

Does your Section plan to organize the international Combustion Institute Summer School (CI-SS)?

Yes

If you selected "Yes" which year will it be carried out?

• Princeton University (planned 2023)

Other information you may want to report:

N/A