## 2022 Canada Section of The Combustion Institute Report

Section Website: <a href="https://www.combustion-institute.ca/">https://www.combustion-institute.ca/</a>
Section Chair: Cecile Devaud

Section officers and board members with titles:

- Officers
  - N/A
- Board Members
  - o Cecile Devaud
  - Jeff Bergthorson
  - o Fengshan Liu
  - o Gaby Ciccarelli
  - o Gilles Bourque
  - Sina Kheirkhah
  - Seth Dworkin
  - Kendal Bushe

## Members of the section:

Active Members 128 Non-Student Members 101 Student Members 27

Has the section revised its by-laws since 2020?

No

Section meetings and workshops since 2018:

- Section Meetings
  - o May 17, 2022 9 attendees
  - O September 20, 2021 9 attendees
  - August 18, 2020 10 attendees
- Workshops
  - o CI/CS Spring technical meeting, May 16-19, 2022 149 attendees

## Other activities:

N/A

Awards given by section:

• 2022: 12 student travel awards for student presenters at the Int. Symp. (each award is \$1,000 towards refund of travel expenses + \$200 prepaid card given to students directly)

Special achievements attained by section members:

• In 2022, Gaby Ciccarelli has been elected Fellow of the Combustion institute for outstanding contributions to the fundamental research of deflagration-to-detonation transition and detonation propagation in a rough channel.

Does your Section plan to organize the international Combustion Institute Summer School (CI-SS)?

• No

If you selected "Yes" which year will it be carried out?

• N/A

Other information you may want to report:

• N/A