Jim Driscoll current CI President (2016 – 2020), Kaoru Maruta, Jacquline Chen, Ron Hanson, at the 37th International Symposium on Combustion in Dublin, Ireland

In this first installment of a seven-part series of articles, The Combustion Institute recognizes combustion scientists who were honored with medals and awards during the 37th International Symposium on Combustion. Jacqueline Chen is the 2018 recipient of the Bernard Lewis Gold Medal, for her exceptional skill in linking high performance computing and combustion research to deliver fundamental insights into turbulence-chemistry interactions.

Dr. Chen is a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at the Combustion Research Facility at Sandia National Laboratories. She has contributed broadly to research in direct numerical simulations of turbulent combustion elucidating turbulence-chemistry interactions in turbulent flames and ignition processes. These interactions govern the overall combustion rate, emissions, the degree of local extinction and ignition timing.  She and her collaborators have discovered new physical insights related to turbulent premixed and stratified flame propagation, preferential diffusion, intrinsic flame instabilities, lifted flame stabilization in (non)heated flows, reactive scalar mixing, compression ignition and flashback in boundary layers.  These benchmark simulation data have also been used by the modeling community to validate turbulent combustion models.

To achieve scalable performance of DNS on increasingly complex heterogeneous computer architectures, she leads an interdisciplinary team of computer scientists, applied mathematicians and computational scientists to develop combustion direct numerical simulation software with complex chemistry and multi-physics for exascale supercomputers.

Dr. Chen is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of The Combustion Institute. She served as a member of the Board of Directors of The Combustion Institute from 2006 – 2018. She is a former Editor of Flow, Turbulence and Combustion, and has served as Co-Editor of Proceedings of The Combustion Institute, Volumes 29 and 30 and as a member of the editorial board from 2008-2014. In addition, she has served on numerous editorial boards and advisory committees.

In 1998, Dr. Chen received the Sandia Employee Recognition Award for Technical Excellence. She was honored with the Asian American Engineer of the Year Award in 2009 and the O.E. Adams Award for Excellence in Combustion Science in 2012. Dr. Chen has also serves as a member of the DOE Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Advisory Committee from 2008 to the present.

Please join The Combustion Institute in congratulating Dr. Chen and the other honored 2018 award winners in the international combustion community. Questions regarding awards may be directed to: Office@CombustionInstitute.org.