In March 2017, The Combustion Institute Board of Directors established the Fellows Program of The Combustion Institute to recognize distinguished members of the international combustion community for outstanding scientific contributions. The Fellows Selection Committee for the 2020 Fellows of The Combustion Institute has been established and is charged with the responsibility to evaluate nominees and select candidates to become Fellows. The committee consists of 12 members who have agreed to serve staggered terms over a three-year cycle.

The following is a list of committee members based on term length:

Term Ends in 2020

      • Andreas Dreizler, Chair, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
      • Frédérique Battin-Leclerc, Université de Lorraine, France
      • Jacqueline Chen, Sandia National Laboratories, United States
      • Fei Qi, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

Term Ends in 2021

      • Henry Curran, Vice-Chair, National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland
      • Robert Barlow, Sandia National Laboratories, United States
      • Yiguang Ju, Princeton University, United States
      • Naian Liu, University of Science and Technology of China, China

Term Ends in 2022

      • Gilles Bourque, Siemens Canada, Canada
      • Pascale Desgroux, Université de Lille, France
      • Osamu Fujita, Hokkaido University, Japan
      • Murray Thomson, University of Toronto, Canada

The Call for Nominations for the Fellows of The Combustion Institute
The Call for Nominations will be released this week; please look for it in your emails. Nominations will be accepted through 30 September 2019, after which the selection committee will convene electronically to evaluate the nomination packages. (Committee members are not permitted to nominate or otherwise support any candidates.) The selection process is scheduled to conclude in January 2020.

About the Fellows Program of The Combustion Institute
Members of the international combustion community recognized by their peers as distinguished for outstanding contributions to combustion, whether it be in research or in applications, may be designated Fellows of The Combustion Institute and may use the acronym FCI next to their name. This lifetime honorific title confers no special rights, privileges or duties. For more information about the Fellows program refer to the governing document accepted by the Board of Directors.