The Combustion Institute congratulates the 2018 medalists and award winners, recognized during the 37th International Symposium on Combustion. Winners were selected for their significant contributions in the field of combustion. CI also congratulates the award committees, who had the honor and the responsibility to seek nominations and select winners among our international community of combustion scientists and practitioners.

The 2018 award winners are as follows:

Bernard Lewis Gold Medal

Awarded to Jacqueline Chen, Sandia National Laboratories, United States

For her exceptional skill in linking high performance computing and combustion research to deliver fundamental insights into turbulence-chemistry interactions.

Alfred C. Egerton Gold Medal

Awarded to Katharina Kohse-Höinghaus, University of Bielefeld, Germany

For sustained, brilliant research in combustion chemistry, especially of bio-derived fuels, through the application of laser spectroscopy and mass spectrometry.

Ya B. Zeldovich Gold Medal

Awarded to Stephen Klippenstein, Argonne National Laboratory, United States

For pioneering research in the development and application of accurate first-principles theoretical kinetics methods to advance combustion chemistry modeling.

Jürgen Warnatz Gold Medal

Awarded to Assaad Masri, University of Sydney, Australia

For pioneering experimental investigations of turbulent gaseous and spray flames and seminal contributions to the understanding of turbulence-chemistry interactions.

Silver Combustion Medal

Jorge Contreras, Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María, Chile | Jean-Louis Consalvi, Aix-Marseille University, France | Andrés Fuentes, Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María, Chile

For the outstanding paper, Oxygen index effect on the structure of a laminar boundary layer diffusion flame in a reduced gravity environment, presented at the previous International Symposium on Combustion.

The 2017 and 2018 Hiroshi Tsuji Early Career Researcher Award

2017: Awarded to Matthias Ihme, Stanford University, United States

2018: Awarded to Nicolas Noiray, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

For demonstrated excellence in fundamental or applied combustion science research.

Bernard Lewis Fellowships

Six recipients include:

Wang Han, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany

Xinyan Huang, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China

Luca Magri, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Christopher Reuter, Princeton University, United States

Wenyu Sun, Tsinghua University, China

Peng Zhao, Oakland University, United States

Please join The Combustion Institute in congratulating these recognized members of the international combustion community. Questions regarding awards may be directed to: