The Combustion Institute is pleased to announce three CI members have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). On Wednesday, 7 February 2017, the NAE announced its election of 83 U.S. members and 16 international members. Congratulations to Jacqueline Chen, Ann Karagozian, and Timothy Lieuwen for this recognition of their scientific achievements.

CI members elected to the NAE are listed below with their affiliations and a brief statement of their principal engineering accomplishments. A comprehensive list of all new members can be found on the NAE website.

Jacqueline Chen, Sandia National Laboratories, United States, elected for contributions to the computational simulation of turbulent reacting flows with complex chemistry.

Ann Karagozian, University of California, United States, elected for contributions to combustion and propulsion, education of future aerospace engineers, and service to the country.

Timothy Lieuwen, Georgia Institute of Technology, United States, elected for contributions to research and development in low-emissions gas turbine combustion systems and U.S. energy policy.

In a press release, NAE announced membership with the organization “honors those who have made outstanding contributions to ‘engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,’ and to the ‘pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.’”

The newly elected class is scheduled to be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on 30 September 2018. Please join The Combustion Institute in congratulating these members for receiving one of the highest professional distinctions from a prestigious institution.