Charles Westbrook, former CI President (2008-2012) and retired senior scientist at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States, has been elected a member of the National Academy of Engineering. On Sunday, 5 February 2017, the NAE announced its election of 67 U.S. members and 12 international members.

In a press release, NAE announced membership with the organization “honors those who have made outstanding contributions to ‘engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,’ and to the ‘pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.’”

“This platform is a great opportunity to work with people I did not have access to before,” Dr. Westbrook said. “I’m excited about the possibilities for answering some of these challenging questions.” Dr. Westbrook has been accorded membership with the NAE “for pioneering development, applications, and leadership in chemical kinetic modeling to advance combustion science and technology.”

At Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Dr. Westbrook is known as a pioneer in the combustion field. While he officially retired from the LLNL in 2005 (after 41 years of service), he still continues his important work developing chemical kinetic modeling codes, the backbone of combustion science. Throughout his career, Dr. Westbrook has won many scientific awards. In 2008, he was honored with the Bernard Lewis Gold Medal during the 32nd International Symposium on Combustion at McGill University, Canada. He received the medal “for the pioneering development of detailed chemical kinetic mechanisms for use in practical applications.”

The newly elected class is scheduled to be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on 8 October 2017. To review a list of newly elected members with their primary affiliations at the time of election, visit the NAE website.

Please join The Combustion Institute in congratulating Dr. Westbrook on one of the highest professional distinctions from a prestigious institution.