The Call for Nominations has been released for the fourth annual Hiroshi Tsuji Early Career Researcher Award. The Combustion Institute and Elsevier will bestow the award and prize of US $10,000 upon an early career researcher who has advanced a specific field of research within four to ten years of completing a doctoral degree or equivalent.

Nominations will open on 1 October 2018 and close on 15 November 2018. Both self-nominations and peer recommendations will be considered by the award committee. There have been changes to the documentation required in the nomination package. It is suggested that nominators download the Call for Nominations for more information about the nomination and selection process.

The award is named after Professor Hiroshi Tsuji and his many important contributions to combustion science, most famously his invention and utilization of a stable counterflow burner configuration, the Tsuji burner. The configuration has influenced a vast number of fundamental studies and applications regarding flame structure, extinction, soot formation and other areas in laminar and turbulent combustion. It is also a foundational element for early career researchers coming to the field.

The Combustion Institute and Elsevier together developed the award to spotlight the work of early career scientists. Recognizing innovation in combustion science helps to advance fundamental understanding and enables cleaner and more efficient processes in power generation, transportation, or industrial production.

The third annual Hiroshi Tsuji Early Career Researcher Award was bestowed upon Nicolas Noiray, ETH Zürich, Switzerland. Dr. Noiray’s responsibilities consist of research and teaching activities in fluid mechanics, combustion, acoustics, thermos-acoustics and aero-acoustics.

The selected recipient of the 2019 Hiroshi Tsuji Early Career Researcher Award will be notified by 1 April 2019. The recipient will have the option to be honored with the award during the 38th International Symposium on Combustion in Adelaide, Australia from Sunday, 12 July through Friday, 17 July 2020.

Questions regarding the award may be directed to: