The Combustion Institute is pleased to announce the election of the Executive Committee officers, as defined in The Combustion Institute By-LawsThe new Executive Committee will conduct the business of The Combustion Institute for a four-year term that will commence at the conclusion of the CI’s 40th International Symposium – Emphasizing Energy Transitionin July 2024. The term will end at the conclusion of the 2028 Symposium. 

President Philippe Dagaut extends his congratulations to the new Executive Committee, “As my term as President of The Combustion Institute nears its end, I am happy to see these leadership roles passed to the new Executive Committee. I believe the Institute is in good hands with these new officers, as they are all dedicated members of The Combustion Institute as well as the greater combustion community. As we move towards the future of energy and combustion, I am confident this team will serve our diverse, growing membership well, and keep us moving forward in this ever-changing scientific landscape.”

The Executive Committee will be chaired by incoming President, Hai Wang, Stanford University, United States. Other members include:

  • Vice President (President-Elect) – Assaad Masri, The University of Sydney, Australia
  • Vice President for Sectional Affairs – Osamu Fujita, Hokkaido University, Japan
  • Treasurer – Derek Dunn-Rankin, University of California, Irvine, United States
  • Secretary – Terese Løvås, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • Secretary for Sectional Affairs – Zheng Chen, Peking University, China

For members to qualify as Executive Committee officers, they must be present or past members of the Board of Directors. The nomination committee, chaired this term by Phil Westmoreland (United States), carefully screened candidates and proposed a slate to the Board. It was ensured that each potential officer is willing to devote the necessary time and energy to such an important role. Overall, The Combustion Institute is proud to reflect the world-spanning community with a balance of officers from major regions.

The Executive Committee consists of the following roles: 

The President is the Chief Executive Officer and Chair of the Executive Committee. The President presides over all meetings. The President has general and active management of the business of the Institute.  

The Vice President (President-Elect) is the Vice Chair of the Executive Committee and is vested with all the powers and required to perform all the duties of the President in the President’s absence or disability. 

The Vice President for Sectional Affairs chairs The Combustion Institute Committee, and with the Secretary for Sectional Affairs, represents the Institute in working with groups to become Sections of the Institute and assures Sections fulfill their responsibilities. 

The Treasurer has custody of the funds of the Institute, with support of the Executive Administrator, and keeps full and accurate accounts of receipts and disbursements in records belonging to the Institute. 

The Secretary, with the support of the Executive Administrator, shall keep the minutes of all meetings of members and of the Board of Directors, and shall attend to the giving and serving of all notices of the Institute. 

The Secretary for Sectional Affairs is the Secretary of The Combustion Institute Committee and shall be vested with all the powers required to perform all duties of the Vice President for Sectional Affairs in the event of his/her absence or disability. 

To learn more about the Executive Committee and detailed definitions of each role, please refer to The Combustion Institute By-Laws.