Photo caption: Jim Driscoll, current CI President (2016-2020), Nicolas Noiray, Matthias Ihme, Yan Sun, Journal Manger, Elsevier, at the 37th International Symposium on Combustion in Dublin, Ireland

In this sixth installment of a seven-part series of articles, The Combustion Institute recognizes combustion scientists who were honored with medals and awards during the 37th International Symposium on Combustion. Matthias Ihme is the 2017 and Nicolas Noiray is the 2018 recipient of the Hiroshi Tsuji Early Career Researcher Award, for demonstrated excellence in fundamental or applied combustion science research.

Associate Professor Matthias Ihme leads a research group of graduate students and post-doctoral researchers that address the computational modeling of turbulent reacting flows, the development of numerical methods, and the exploration of advanced combustion concepts at Stanford University, United States.  He holds a BSc. degree in Mechanical Engineering and a MSc. degree in Computational Engineering. In 2008, he received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford University. After being on the faculty of the Aerospace Engineering Department at the University of Michigan for five years, he returned to Stanford in 2013. He is a recipient of the NSF CAREER Award (2009), the ONR Young Investigator Award (2010), the AFOSR Young Investigator Award (2010), and the NASA Early Career Faculty Award (2015).

Assistant Professor Nicolas Noiray established the Combustion and Acoustics for Power and Propulsion Systems (CAPS) laboratory at ETH Zürich in August 2014. He received his engineering degree from ENSEEIHT and his M.S. in Fluid Mechanics from the National Polytechnic Institute of Toulouse. He joined the laboratory EM2C where he earned his Pd.D. in Energetics in 2007. Beginning in 2008, he joined the Combustor Department of Alstom’s Research Center in Baden, Switzerland and broadened his field of expertise. He received the Paul Laffitte prize from the French Section of The Combustion Institute and the DGA Prize which is jointly awarded by the French Ministries of Defense and of Research for the best Ph.D. thesis in 2007. He was a recipient of the Silver Medal of The Combustion Institute in 2010. While at Alstom Power, he received the “Gas Turbine Invention Award” two years in a row and in 2012 the corporate level “Alston Innovation Award”.

Please join The Combustion Institute in congratulating Associate Professor Ihme, Assistant Professor Noiray and the other honored award winners in the international combustion community. Questions regarding awards may be directed to: