

# Call for Nominations: Fellows of The Combustion Institute

Released: 15 June 2022

Members of the international combustion community recognized by their peers as distinguished for outstanding contributions to combustion, whether it be in research or in applications, may be designated Fellows of The Combustion Institute. This lifetime honorific title confers no special rights, privileges or duties. Fellows are active participants in The Combustion Institute, as evidenced by the publishing of papers in CI-affiliated journals, attendance at the International Symposia on Combustion, and/or attendance at CI Section meetings. Elected Fellows of The Combustion Institute may use the acronym FCI next to their name.

### **Nominations**

To be eligible for nomination, a candidate must have been a member of The Combustion Institute for at least the previous five years. Nominations are submitted by a nominator and two supporters, all of whom must be members of The Combustion Institute. If the nominee is an Industry member, one supporting letter may be provided by a non-member if necessary to provide crucial information/support. Self-nominations are not accepted. No member of the Fellows Selection Committee may nominate or support a candidate.

Nominations should be submitted through the online nomination submission portal on the CI Account Management System (AMS). To be accepted for consideration, all nominations require:

- Completion of all fields in the online nomination portal
- A nominating letter (two pages maximum)\*
- No more than two support letters (two pages maximum each)\*
- Curriculum vitae; a list of the most impactful papers published in CI-affiliated journals\*\*; a list of other selected papers; a statement about involvement in International Symposia on Combustion and CI Section meetings; a citation of at most 20 words (four pages maximum)\*
  - \*A font size of at least 11 pt. or 12 pt. is recommended, but no smaller than 10 pt. should be used.
  - \*\*CI-affiliated journals are: Proceedings of The Combustion Institute, Combustion and Flame, Combustion Theory and Modelling, Combustion Science and Technology, and Progress in Energy and Combustion Science.

Submit the nomination through the online nomination submission portal on The CI Account Management System (AMS) by 23:59 EDT, 30 September 2022. Instructions on how to use the AMS nomination submission portal can be found on the CI website. Questions regarding submissions should be directed to Office@CombustionInstitute.org.

Submissions that do not adhere to the above instructions will not be accepted.

Elected Fellows will be announced in March 2023. Each nomination remains active for three consecutive years, with the nominator being given the opportunity to update the nomination package.

More information can be found on the Fellows of The Combustion Institute page of the CI website.

# Call for Nominations: Fellows of The Combustion Institute

#### **Fellows Selection Committee**

The Fellows Selection Committee is charged with the responsibility to evaluate nominees each year and select candidates to become Fellows. The committee consists of esteemed members appointed by the President in consultation with the Executive Committee. Members of the Selection Committee have agreed to serve staggered terms over a three-year cycle.

The following is a list of committee members based on term length:

#### Term Ends in 2023

Campbell D. Carter, Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, United States

Pascale Domingo, CORIA – CNRS, Normandie Université, INSA de Rouen, France

Suk-Ho Chung, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia

Angela Violi, University of Michigan, United States

#### Term Ends in 2024

María U. Alzueta, University of Zaragoza, Spain

Roger Cracknell, Shell Global Solutions, United Kingdom

Ronald K. Hanson, Stanford University, United States

Hong G. Im, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia

Peter Lindstedt, Imperial College London, United Kingdom

Guillermo Rein, Imperial College London, United Kingdom

Uwe Riedel, University of Stuttgart and DLR, Germany

Alison Tomlin, University of Leeds, United Kingdom

### Term Ends in 2025

André Boehman, University of Michigan, United States

Tina Kasper, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany

Eric Petersen, Texas A&M University, United States

Youngbin Yoon, Seoul National University, Korea